Cold Kill Book Review

Gripping
I’d frankly not expected to enjoy this book as much as I did having read it. I’m not a big fan of mystery tales in general and have only read few of the genre in the past. I simply wasn’t engrossed to how these type of stories are written. I don’t fancy their intricacies either. I find that stories under that particular genre can often be too perplexing for me to dig.

But I guess I was too quick to presume so, because a couple of chapters in, my distorted perception had already shifted. The book was great. It has a good overall plot and an amazing character development embellished with a very descriptive event illustrations. It comprises numerous twists, turns and information dumps that is complex enough to get me thinking, but not too knotty. I must applaud Neil for being able to find that balance between all the vital aspects.

However, there’s one facet that I figure can be improved. And that is the often unnecessary details within the text. I understand that stories of this sort ought to be written at a certain level of meticulous-ness, but at some points throughout the novel, it has very much exceeded that level. Yet it’s still a strikingly beautiful novel and I’d recommend it to absolutely everybody.

[4/5 Stars]

Synopsis

Every breath you take. He’ll be watching you … When Jane Roberts is found dead in a woodland area Detective Sergeant Laura McGanity is first on the scene. The body bears a chilling similarity to a woman – Deborah Corley-murdered three weeks earlier. Both have been stripped.strangled and defiled.When reporter Jack Garrett starts digging for dirt on the notorious Whitcroft estate. he finds himself face-to-face with Jane’s father and gangland boss Don who will stop at nothing until justice is done. It seems that the two murdered women were linked in more ways than one and a dirty secret is about to surface that some would prefer stay buried.As the killer circles once more. Jack and Laura must get to him before he strikes again. But his sights are set on his next victim and he’s watching Laura’s every move …

51-bdrex5nl
Cold Kill by Neil White. 4/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

