The Edge of Seventeen (2017) Hailee Steinfeld Movie Review

The Edge of Seventeen is perhaps the utter best brother-sister themed movie I’ve seen so far. The trailer caught my attention for the most part, it was hilarious. The very first few seconds of the trailer cracked me up and that was the point I’d decided I have to see this movie. Solemnly, the movie wasn’t set to play in the country where I reside; therefore I had to long for an online version of it to ultimately show up so I can watch it that way.

This movie really does put to show the distinct hurdles of an adolescent/teen, focusing mainly on friendships and relationships in general. Having gone through middle school, I frankly can relate to the roller coasters of emotions and sentiments the main character is plowing through. I can truly relate to the envy and the way she reacted to simple issues; it is not particularly uncommon especially in middle school. High school, especially, is the place where people are still trying to piece together the fragments of their life and figure out who they are therefore they are inevitably liable to extreme mood-swings.

My favorite part about this movie, I must say; are the characters. It was only halfway through the film when I shed my first few droplets of tears. The main character, portrayed by Hailee Steinfeld is sarcastically hilarious. Whoever devised the dialogue deserves a nomination. Her teacher though, is my utter favorite. He’s the coolest yet most sympathetic and generous educator ever portrayed in films. He may not have the skills to preach, but his actions and faithfulness towards his young scholars proved his bigheartedness. Yet one character I didn’t like as much was the best friend. She conveyed very minimal emotions through the part where she’d lost her best friend that it made me ponder for a brief whether or not she genuinely cares about their friendship as much as her friend does and wills to sustain it, regardless of the fact that they did reconcile in the end.

On top of that, another aspect that I dislike about this movie is the brother’s implausible sob-story. I wasn’t digging that at all. It sounded like more of an alibi to me. Surely, I sympathized more with the main character than I did with the other characters, especially the brother with his pitiful reasoning.

Regardless, this movie was a fun one to watch, and admittedly, I had watched it some nights in prior to big exam season. The trailer simply prompted my curiosity and I had to feed it somehow. I definitely think you should watch it. You may just love it more than I do!

[3/5 Stars!]

Everyone knows that growing up is hard, and life is no easier for high school junior Nadine (Hailee Steinfeld), who is already at peak awkwardness when her all-star older brother Darian (Blake Jenner) starts dating her best friend Krista (Haley Lu Richardson). All at once, Nadine feels more alone than ever, until an unexpected friendship with a thoughtful teen (Hayden Szeto) gives her a glimmer of hope that things just might not be so terrible after all.

hailee-steinfeld-stars-inedge-of-seventeen-trailer-social
The Edge of Seventeen (2016) Movie Review by The MadTattler. 3/5 Stars!
Leave a Reply

