The Lie Tree (2015) Frances Hardinge Book Review

Incredibly intriguing and well-written. The Lie Tree didn’t turn out to be as thrilling or ghastly as I’d formerly anticipated from how the blurb and cover came across to me, but it was enthralling regardless. The way by which the story was brought synchronized aptly with the 19th century backdrop, which I thought was one of its greatest appeals. I’ve always been drawn to the 19th century taste; from films to books, the style simply fascinated me so it wasn’t a surprise this did as well. The flow of the story is relatively slow in all accounts and admittedly, I found myself rather jaded in the early parts of the novel, but the tension and excitement did build up as I proceeded. It was not much straight-to-the-point, I can say. Subjectively, I found that the more I approach completion, the more glued I became to the tale.

As of the portrayals and synchrony of the characters, I opined they were all very well devised and introduced. I was especially enraptured by the character of Faith’s father. I, like Faith, profoundly admire his astuteness and composure, in spite of the fact that he may come across as rather ruffled often, but cultivated. I must confess, his abrupt death did startle me a little, despite the fact that it was clearly indicated in the blurb. Aside from her Father, I’d also caught on a slight admiration upon Faith; the shy and deceitful, yet cunning and dauntless fourteen year old girl. I thought what she did in favor of her father was incredibly brave and much reflected her love for him.

Although, what I did not like of this book was the fact that I couldn’t entirely immerse myself in the plot considering how partly implausible it was. Presenting to the public a counterfeit fossil will surely draw notoriety, but not farfetched to the extent expressed in the novel. It was as if everybody in the planet loathed the family and no ground on Earth was available for them, when that really wasn’t the case.

Yet, in all, this was a wonderful book, I had a wonderful time reading it and you may too. If you haven’t heard of, let alone read the novel, bearing its renown, I’d suggest that you skim your local libraries and give this a shot!

[4/5 Stars!]

And she knows, when her father is discovered dead shortly thereafter, that he was murdered. In pursuit of justice and revenge, Faith hunts through her father’s possessions and discovers a strange tree. The tree bears fruit only when she whispers a lie to it. The fruit of the tree, when eaten, delivers a hidden truth.

Leave a Reply

